“FMP”-NATURE.

NATURE:

The meaning of nature:Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 15.56.07.png

I have decided to pick nature for my Final Major project. The reason for my decision was because this area of photography has been my favourite and I wanted to see what outcomes I could get after learning about my camera properly and being able to take better photos.

As I go one lots of walks I thought this would be a good opportunity with this theme as it meant i could then pick from a bigger collection of photos to what I would have if I’d done a different theme.

One walk impartially caught my eye when looking at my pictures. As I live in a rural area there are so many places at my door step to go and on this particular day it was really lovely weather I decided to go out and see what I could photograph. On the first contact sheets on the video it shows you most off the pictures I got but through out these pages there are dots of bright orange, these really caught my eye and when looking closer at these they looked really good and because of this I decided to use them for my final pieces. the contacts sheet below the video show the poppies closer up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 16.47.50.pngScreen Shot 2017-06-16 at 16.47.58.png

After a lot of time looking through the photos of the orange poppies and editing nine of the photos I eventually decided on three. These have been placed in black A4 frames for my exhibition. They came out really well on glossy paper at reprographics and I am happy with how they turned out. If I was to do this again I would still choose the three I did but probably add a larger one as well as the three in frames IMG_5488.jpg

IMG_5500.jpgIMG_5505.jpg

EVALUATION.

Overall this course has shown me so many new skills and tips on how to use my camera and get the best results out off it. I have learnt so much on depth of field and how to us this properly and also how to transfer film not photos.

The dark room was probably one of my favourite areas to work in while doing this course and I hope to carry on using it at college. I also found using a micro hence was something I was really interested in because this meant I could take photos of things i wouldn’t usually be able to see. For instance I took photos of fly wings and butterfly wings which turned out to be amazing.

I feel this project could of gone better but because of the time I had with it and having a full time course as well I struggled to manage my time in both.

I’m happy with how my final project worked and I’m pleased with my outcomes. If I could take these photos again I would defiantly use a micro lens because the flowers would of come out more crisp and sharp but because I don’t have one this wasn’t possible at the time.

Leave a Reply

